Month 7: I have the plague…again.

7 months Preg - The PlagueI always get the crud this time of year. It starts with allergies. Then my throat starts to itch. Then my body gives up the fight completely and I end up with bronchitis. This has happened every year since 1996.

I am a bit startled that it came on so early this year; normally the plague arrives just in time to screw up my birthday and/or Christmas. Also, it came on so quickly!! I was fine at work yesterday. I got home at 3:30 and my nose was runny…then I woke up at 1:00am convinced I was going to die before the sun came up.

Thank goodness I had to do the gestational diabetes glucose testing thingy at the doctor today, it resulted in my seeing the doctor this morning. I got swabbed for flu, which came back negative – evidently I’m still not out of the woods though. Supposedly, it can take a little time for a flu test to come up positive? I’ve had the flu twice in my life, and I DO NOT relish the thought of having to go through that while 7 months pregnant. Baby G is doing just fine though, he’s a big boy and I’m scheduled for sonos every month from now until delivery. I still haven’t seen my son’s face, because he covers it with his arms every time we try to do the 3D imaging. However, I am convinced, from traditional sono profile pics, that this kid looks EXACTLY like his Daddy. And I intend to prove it before he arrives by golly.

Anyhoot, due to my disease-ridden  plague-infested virally suffering corpus, my doctor made me swear on my unborn child that I would not go to work today, and that I would actually STAY. IN. BED. (fidgeting is a problem for me, as we all know). My doctor also

LEONARD!! I’M SICK!!

knows that when it comes to “taking it easy”, I’m a big fat liar, and I will tell her that I will rest and be a good girl – then drive straight from the doctor’s office to my office for work.

This round though, I’ve done what I promised. Mostly. Other than going to pee and acquiring water and food, I’ve stayed in bed – I have done some work, and I did FaceTime the shop to check in – but I’m IN. BED. I’m also drinking chicken broth now (my homemade stuff, which is the GREATEST) and I keep sipping on a concoction that seems to soothe my throat, and clear my nose, simultaneously…

Lemon Honey Ginger Stuff

  • 3 Lemon Slices, plus a squeeze of lemon juice
  • Grated Ginger to taste (I keep mine in the freezer, then just grate it into whatever – it keeps indefinitely as far as I can tell)
  • Big spoonful of raw honey
  • Boiling water

– Place lemon slices, juice, ginger and honey in a mug (I just drop the honey-coated spoon in the mug and leave it) Pour boiling water over all. Stir until honey is incorporated, and enjoy. It’s a good way to push more fluids too!! I feel so terrible, I’ve just been drinking cup after cup…yay hydration!!

Tomorrow was supposed to be a fun-filled day, so we’ll see if this “resting” business is all it’s cracked up to be – maybe I can still go play tomorrow. If not though, I’m going back to my tried and true fidgeting and bustling about. It’s a lot more comfortable than trying to be still.

Update: I fell asleep sitting up before I could hit the publish button and slept for 2 hours. I feel a little better (but I’ve lost my voice since this morning), so I think maybe my doctor had a point about being still- she’s a super smart lady  😉 Now…let’s see if Ninja will go get me some Thai food….

XOXO

~ J ~

About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Baby Belly, Epic Fails, Food is DELICIOUS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

