Budgeting Like A Boss: Epic Thyme Skin-Clearing Toner

I make a lot of my own stuff because I’m poor. Like laundry detergent, fabric softener, body wash, deodorant, conditioner, cough syrup, and brewin’ the amazingness that is Kombucha. But I recently stumbled upon (and slightly adapted) a recipe from the fabulous Lindsay over at Delighted Momma for a skin-clearing Thyme Facial Toner that is MIND BLOWING, and I would make/use it even if I was swimming in hundred dollar bills.

To preface, I am not one of those lucky chickadees that grew out of those pesky breakouts when I happily passed beyond with my teenage years. No sirree. They have hounded me like a banshee on an omen bender. Consquently, I have tried every available skin-clearing, acne-fighting, miracle-promising, piece of crap toner on the budget-friendly market. There might be some kickass product out there made by Clarins or some such, but that little bit of high-dollar magic won’t be found in the medicine cabinets of us chickens. And the stuff I can afford just hasn’t worked for me. I was reduced to using rubbing alcohol on my face which, while effective for surface acne, is drying and super irritating to the skin.

So when I stumbled across Lindsay’s website and this wonderful little toner recipe comprised of two ingredients that I already had in my kitchen, I jumped on the homemade toner wagon lickety split. And from minute one I was hooked. This stuff is AMAZEBALLS. I’ve been using it for about 3 months and my skin is glowy and clear and happy and fabulous. I only suffer through putting on makeup for special occasions now. So add time-saving to this list of awesome.

And it’s so easy!! Here, check it out:

Get some raw Apple Cider Vinegar and dried thyme (I buy my thyme in bulk because it is ridiculously cheap). Pour 1/4 cup A.C.V. into a microwaveable glass jar (ie. Pyrex) and heat for 30 seconds.

Get some raw Apple Cider Vinegar and dried thyme (I buy my thyme in bulk because it is ridiculously cheap, and Bragg’s A.C.V. is about $5 for the big bottle). Pour 1/4 cup A.C.V. into a microwaveable glass jar (eg. Pyrex) and heat for 30 seconds.

Dump in 1-1/2 tbsp Dried Thyme and mix it up.

Dump in 1-1/2 tbsp Dried Thyme and mix it up.

Cover with a cotton cloth and let sit for 2 hours for maximum potency.

Cover with a cotton cloth and let sit for 2 hours for maximum potency. Less time if you prefer.

Get your toner bottle (I bought a little reusable travel one for $0.79) and a funnel...

Get your toner bottle (I bought a little reusable travel one for $0.79) and a funnel…

Lay your cotton cloth inside the funnel like a coffee filter, then dump all the toner mixture into the lined funnel. Let drain into your container (hold it so it doesn't tip over) - and for the last part, pick up the cotton cloth and twist to squeeze all the remaining toner out of the thyme leaves. Cap and use!!

Lay your cotton cloth inside the funnel like a coffee filter, then dump all the toner mixture into the lined funnel. Let drain into your container (hold it so it doesn’t tip over) – and for the last part, pick up the cotton cloth by the corners, then twist the cloth tightly around the thyme leaves to squeeze out all the remaining toner. Cap and use!!

I spilled mine this time, so the bottle didn’t fill up all the way. I make just enough to use in about 3 weeks, so that I can keep it in the bathroom without refrigerating it – but if you want to double the recipe, it can keep in the refrigerator for longer. I would assume, however, that making more than that would allow the vinegar+thyme solution to lose some potency. This is the best toner I have ever used. The first week or so that I applied it, I experienced a little stinging upon application, and the fragrance is like-whoa-strong -vinegary; but the stinging stopped as my face began to clear up, and I’m forgiving of its odorousness because it’s magical.

Oh!! Directions!! Wash face – apply liberally with cotton pad, avoiding eye area – let your skin get mostly dry – apply moisturizer as usual. I even use this on my chest following post-workout-showers so there’s none of that whack sports bra breakout business going on. 

Anyway, the point is – it’s awesome. And affordable. And simple. And natural. Epic win I say. Epic win.

Thanks Lindsay!!

XOXO
~ J ~

About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Budgeting Like A Boss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Budgeting Like A Boss: Epic Thyme Skin-Clearing Toner

  1. jadedapothecary says:

    I could never be this resourceful, but I’m mystified by your ability to do it! Well done, and clever tips.

  2. Shareen says:

    This is incredible! Thank you.

  3. Pingback: Neutrogena Rapid Clear 2-in-1 Fight and Fade Toner Review | Pretty Nizy

Leave a Comment

