Saponification is too a word, and I am AWESOME at it.

DIY Humor. Hehehe.

Saponification is the act of soap making by the way. You can look it up, Wiki will tell you so. Anyway, since I’m on this kick of money saving, I’m looking for easy ways to pinch those pennies anywhere I can find them. As it turns out, household cleaning and bath products are some of the most insanely overpriced bits of your budget!! Especially when you consider you’re spending all that money on something that just goes right down the drain!! My most recent complaint is body wash. Seriously, I was paying $8.22 every 6 months for 70oz of liquid soap for humans, and I didn’t even like it that much. Again, sensitive skin, so I have an extensive list of complaints about harsh ingredients and perfumes, but we won’t get into that here. Just know that bar soap has always been too cumbersome for me, and the lovely all-natural liquid body wash totes a price tag my bank account just can’t handle. I’ll get off my soap box now. Pun intended.

So me and the pups put our brains together, and did some serious Google searches until we found a body wash recipe that even the pups could manage unsupervised…if they had opposable thumbs.

Then I spent about a week researching affordable all-natural soaps that I could use for my latest lab experiment. And by affordable, I mean around $1 per bar, because this is about budgeting after all.

And here’s what I found:

  • Kirk’s Coco Castile Soap  – $1.38 for 2 at http://www.drugstore.com

    Dontcha just love those fancy wrappers on the Bee&Flower soaps? I am SUCH a sucker for marketing…

  • Canus Goat’s Milk Soap with Lavender –  $2.99 for 2 at my local store
  • Bee & Flower Rose Soap – $0.95 per bar
  • Bee & Flower Sandalwood Soap – $0.95 per bar
    • The wrappings were so pretty on the Bee & Flower soaps that I saved them to use for other fun things =P

Now here’s how you put it all together…

Natural Light Moisture Body Wash

Materials:

  • 2 cups grated bar soap (I used a fine grate, it melts faster)
    • For me, with my assortment, 2 cups turned out to be:
      • 1/2 Bar – Kirk’s Coco Castile
      • 1/2 Bar – Goat’s Milk with Lavender
      • 1/2 Bar – Rose Soap
      • 1/4 Bar – Sandalwood Soap (I just wanted a smidge of the Sandalwood scent)
  • 1/2 gallon distilled water
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable glycerin (although I think 1-1.5 tbsp would have been sufficient)
  • For Later: about 8oz hot water

Instructions:

  1. Mix 64oz water, 2 cups of soap, and glycerin together in the pot. Set over low heat stirring occasionally until the soap has dissolved.

    Pink and sorta pearly = dissolved for this batch

  2. Now this part is important. You have to wait until the soap cools. Don’t pour it into your bottles no matter how excited you are. Or it’s going to turn into a gel block, just like last time, and you’re going to have to squish it all back out into the pot to fix it. So let it cool and turn into a gel block in the pot, then do this:
  3. Get out your trusty hand mixer and start blending that soap to break up the gel. Now add your 8oz of hot water very slowly. Like trickle it in there. There ya go, well done.
  4. The hand mixer is going to incorporate a lot of air into the soap, so it’ll be kind of mousse-y. I ended up filling my two 35oz containers that I’d saved from my last store soap purchase, plus a little extra in another container for refills.

    Filled those bottles right up. Well almost right up. I had to wait for the suds to subside…HA!! Say that three times fast!! Suds to subside suds to subside subs tuh subsibe…aw hell.

I used it for the first time today, and it’s rich and foamy, but rinses totally clean!! So far, I love it. I wish it was a little less fluffy in the bottle, but I’ll get that sorted out in time. For my first go round, I’m thrilled. Plus, I got 6 months worth of body wash!! The only thing I”ll have to get more of when it’s time for batch #2 is the distilled water. Everything else is going to hold me over for another 6 months. A YEAR’S WORTH OF SOAP. PAID FOR. Happy dance…happy dance…doin’ the happy dance!!

And here’s the cost-savings for your brains:

  • Kirk’s Coco Castile Soap  – $1.38 for 2 bars at http://www.drugstore.com = 4 batches

    Aaaand done. Go me.

  • Canus Goat’s Milk Soap with Lavender –  $2.99 for 2 at my local store = 4 batches
  • Bee & Flower Rose Soap – $0.95 per bar = 2 batches
  • Bee & Flower Sandalwood Soap – $0.95 per bar = 4 batches
  • Glycerin – $3.88 – 60z = 6 batches
  • Distilled Water – $1.00 – 1gal = 2 batches

Store-Bought Liquid Body Wash 70oz – $8.98

Homemade Liquid Body Wash 72oz – $3.72

Percent savings making it at home??  221%!!

I am now spending $7.44 per year on body wash. Still less than what I was paying for a 6 month supply. Ummm yes. That’ll do.

Jamie out.

XOXO

About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Budgeting Like A Boss, Learning stuff is muy bueno, Science Shiz, Stuff I do...Or like...Or think about and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Saponification is too a word, and I am AWESOME at it.

  1. odetoself says:

    Love love love love love you! Okay so I love the laundry soap, I love the body wash, I loved the hair treatment, ( P.S. I think we have the same hair! Aliens put it there, did you know?) now we need….body lotion, face mask, face scrub, face wash, face lotion….. Nail polish remover? That would actually be nice not to have acetone right in your nose. Wonder if that could be done? Hmmmm any ways I love you and your blog! DIY!

    Linnea M. Collins

    • YES!! I’m actually working on the body lotion and face mask ones right now!! I LOVE YOU TOO!! P.S. If you end up trying any of the ones I’ve posted so far, let me know how they turn out, I’m anxious for feedback!! XOXO

  2. Pingback: “I Could Never Get The Hang of Thursdays”: Weekly Damage Report | I Thought This Would Be Easier

  3. Pingback: Budgeting Like A Boss: Epic Thyme Skin-Clearing Toner | I Thought This Would Be Easier

Leave a Comment

