I’m caught in some sort of alternate-pinning-universe, and I want pizza

In case you’ve been looking for me, I’ve been pinning shit non-stop. I’m not sure what the addiction is, but alas, I’ve been caught in it’s web for a week. So come hang out with me over on Pinterest y’all, you can find me here. In case you’re wondering the kinds of things I pin…well…

Also, I’ve been sick-ish. I caught something that Benjamin had last week, which involves: fever, aches, upset tummy, sore throat and sinus gunk. Due to my upset tummy, I’ve really only been eating crackers during the day, and then craving fresh foods for dinner. But tonight, I wanted cheese. I have no idea why. It just needed to happen. I only had enough money to buy mozzarella, and had to put the rest together from stuff I already had, sooo….

Margherita Pizza

1 Whole Wheat Pizza Crust, ready to go

Fresh basil growing in my kitchen!! I keep trying to put it in EVERYTHING

2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Garlic Powder

1/2 c Spicy Arrabiata Sauce

1/2 c Diced Tomatoes (canned or jar – whichever you kids are using these days)

3 tbsp Fresh Snipped Basil

1 Garlic Clove, Crushed

Salt to taste

Fresh Mozzarella, sliced or finely chopped

About 20 minutes before you’re ready to chunk your pizza in the oven, combine in a mixing bowl (a) the Arrabiata sauce  (b) the diced tomatoes (c) crushed garlic (d) your basil – stir well, and set aside.

After 20 mins or so:

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Sprinkle your pizza stone (or whatever you’re cooking on) with garlic powder and place your pizza crust on top. Lightly brush your pizza crust with olive oil (you probably won’t use all 2 tbsp), and if desired, sprinkle a little more garlic powder around the outside edge of the crust (it makes for tasty bites where there’s no sauce/cheese).

Now, taste your sauce mixture, then add salt to taste. Using a slotted spoon, spread sauce evenly over the crust.

Add your mozzarella to the top, and bake until mozzarella browns slightly – about 15-20 minutes

Cheesy basily goodness

In case you noticed there’s something slightly odd about that pizza up there, here’s some things you might want to know to avoid minor fails:

(A) Don’t use mozzarella pearls whole – you get a weird pattern on your pizza and uneven cheese coverage

(B) Drain your fresh mozzarella well before adding to the top of the pizza – otherwise you have to cook off the extra liquid and your pizza crust will absorb too much of your sauce

  Holla at me next time you make a pizza! Or, you know, slightly fail at making  a pizza…

 

Hugs,

Jamie

About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Behavior, We're All Guilty of It, Food is DELICIOUS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m caught in some sort of alternate-pinning-universe, and I want pizza

  1. Delma says:

    He might need half a hard on to put on the shorts. Unrelated, your pizza looks amazing.

    • JamieRene says:

      Oh my god, I never thought about the physics of elephant penis shorts…you’re totally right!! And the next pizza should be better!! It was still totally NOMS, but Benjamin didn’t approve of the wheat crust, of course =P

  2. gardengrl36 says:

    I actully have no idea what pinterest is!! I hear a lot of people talking about it but I have noooo idea what it is!
    Oh my goodness that pizza looks amazinggg!!!! I love the pattern that the cheese made! There is this amazing blog called Running with Spatulas (i dont know how to do links) that has a great super easy pizza recipe. You should check it out!

    • JamieRene says:

      Pinterest is nuts, it has sucked me into the vortex, and I don’t understand what happened =P
      Thanks for liking my bizarro cheese pattern, I’ll definitely check out Running with Spatulas, I love the name!! As always, thanks so much for commenting, it makes me so happy!!

  3. Pingback: Soliloquy On Peanut Butter…Amongst Other Things « I Thought This Would Be Easier

  4. Pingback: Culinary Exploits & Short-Term Memory Loss are a Girl’s Best Friend « I Thought This Would Be Easier

Leave a Comment

