Herbosity: Gardening, Green Thumbs, and So Forth

Fancy English garden...oh if only I could bring forth such greatness...

I love, love gardening. Growing things. Watching them change, hiding away during the winter, then fighting their way back up through the earth every spring. Except I’m not really that great at it, and I’m terrible at remembering to water things (I have to actually write it on my calendar), and I tend to over-prune. Nonetheless, I try something new every spring. To date, I have 4 living plants in my house. Not a great track record.

Yet, I’ve been talking about starting a for real garden – veggies, herbs, the works – for years now. I have books, bookmarked web pages, magazines, and even a mondo 70’s Better Homes & Gardens card file thingy about gardening. Just no…ya know…garden.

I think it even teaches you how to macrame a plant hanger...thanks BH&G!!

Well. Yesterday Benjamin took me with him to Home Depot (he was shopping for stuff to install our bathroom vanity) and he dropped me in the middle of the gardening section with the words, “It’s time babe, we’re gonna plant your herb garden”. EEeeeeEeEeeeeEEEEeeeEEeEeEe!! Sometimes you just need somebody to throw you into the water ya know?

So here’s what we got:

  • A little windowsill greenhouse that would allow us to plant 24 sets of seeds
  • Cilantro
  • Garlic Chive  (a Benjamin pick)
  • Dill
  • Sage
  • Tarragon
  • Thyme
  • Oregano
  • Lemon Basil
  • Rosemary
  • Parsley
  • Genovese Basil
  • Lemon Balm

We purchased 12 different types of seeds so each type could have two of the soil cakes to try to germinate in. The soil cakes in the little greenhouse were completely dehydrated and covered in gauze. So, I added about 3 cups of warm water to the tray/cakes, per the instructions (I actually read the instructions!!) – and it was amazing!! The little cake things totally soaked up the water and expanded to 5x their original size – like those foam “dinosaur-in-a-capsule” things we had as kids!!

Then I labeled the carton Sharpie-style with which herb seeds were in each slot. Benjamin and I took turns putting 3-4 seeds in each soil cake, then loosely covered them with a little of the peat soil.

It is insanely hard to write on the side of a plastic box without tipping it...

I put the covered greenhouse in the kitchen windowsill. It’s just a waiting game now. When the first seeds start to sprout, I’m supposed to prop the lid open. When they’ve all sprouted I can remove the lid and place them in a full sun window. Watering is only required when the soil cakes turn light brown rather than dark brown. After a week or so in a full sun window, I can transplant them to their own pots!! If these live to the first harvest, I think I’ll feel rather comfortable with trying to start some veggie seeds. I’ve checked the seeds seven times since yesterday. Benjamin says to stop messing with them.

It’s just so HARD!! I want to see green sprouts!!

Anxiously Awaiting,

Jamie

About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Learning stuff is muy bueno, My Favorite Things, Science Shiz, Stuff I do...Or like...Or think about and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Herbosity: Gardening, Green Thumbs, and So Forth

  1. The Hook says:

    Nature rules! Great post!

  2. mymissah says:

    all the best with the garden. Asking Mother Nature’s smiling your way 🙂

  3. teutonic13 says:

    I like your writing style. 🙂

    I write a cardiovascular blog- here is some info on it.

    It’s a WordPress site. Anyway- drop by and see what you think?

    Frank

    http://circuitsurfers.com/about/

  4. teutonic13 says:

    It might be fun to get your perspective on heart surgery and do a post on it?

  5. Pingback: Freshly (Im)pressed. « I Thought This Would Be Easier

Leave a Comment

