Happy Anniversary to Benjamin & Jamie =D

ComiCon 2011 - Nerd love.

Three years!! Best three years EVER. Our anniversary is actually on the 6th – but we had to wait until we had some money to go out for our anniversary dinner. Such is life.

Every year we go to the same restaurant for our anniversary – Yummy’s Greek in Dentonia. We went there for the first time on our second date. Check it, Benjamin took me to see the Vagina Monologues, followed by dinner. HELLS TO THE YEAH. Such a man. Also, my bestie J.H. directed that year. She’s amazeballs.

Anyway, after the monologues, Benjamin let me pick the restaurant we were going to. I have a very overwhelming addiction to Mediterranean food, and asked Benji if he’d ever had it. I shook my head sadly when he responded “no”, and said, “Make a right on this street and I shall school you young padawan”. Since Benjamin had never tried the delicious fan fare, and probably because he was trying to show off a little bit – he ordered the Yummy’s Feast, which could feed the entire Student Union on a busy day, and contains a little bit of damn near everything on the menu. I cried a tiny tear of feasting joy, but had to hide it, because we weren’t at that “sometimes I cry over food and you should be okay with that” point in our relationship. A couple days earlier he had found out that Jamie doesn’t share Mexican food. What I order is MINE bitch. We were totally at that point in our relationship.

So we’re chowing down on hummus, baba ghanouj, dolma, tabbouleh, spanakopita, chicken souvlaki, falafel OH MY SWEET CHEESES IT IS HEAVEN – and I try to get Benjamin to try a little bit of the lamb gyro. He freezes and is all, “No. No, absolutely not. I’m not eating that. I’m not eating the baby cute creature. Hell no.” So I flash big eyelashes at him, and fix a little bit of lamb on some pita with a smidge of hummus and say, “Just a little bite. To say you’ve tried it. And if you hate it I swear I’ll never ask you again.” So he

Benji's idea of heaven. Meat and bread. My bites are daintier - he goes for more of a caveman approach.

bit it. And chewed slowly. And looked up at me and said, “Kill ’em. Kill ’em all.”

This is Benjamin’s FAVORITE story to tell people by the way. And he occasionally comes home with a pound of gyro and a package of pita bread when he’s had a bad day. Sometimes he shares.

So tonight was no exception. Yummy’s was GOOOOO. And we really only snarf on magical Mediterranean food for our anniversary, because the amount of chow we can put away at Yummy’s gets kind of expensive, kind of quickly. I was sitting on the edge of the couch waiting expectantly for Benjamin as soon as he got home (at 5:30) ready to effing GO. NOMS STAT YO.

Except state was there today. And Benjamin’s inspection for his department finished today. And he worked until 10:30 last night, not to mention still having to get up at 6:00am this morning. So perhaps my expectant reception was a little overwhelming. He probably told me that too, but I was staring at the bags of potential presents in his hands. What was it!?!

Beer. Yep. Benjamin had bought me the Rahr Brewery February Anniversary Reserve Snowmageddon that they make in remembrance of the Feb 2011 snow storm that caved in the roof of the brewery, bringing operations to a halt for what seemed like FOREVER (Rahr Brewery is only about an hour’s drive from Dentonia, and you can go down there on Saturdays and drink 3 full pints of beer for $5 plus eat free cheeseburgers and other beer munchies and take home your pint glass – I love them with all my heart and soul). So Benjamin brought me a Snowmaggedon – handing it to me and saying “an anniversary for an anniversary”. I adore his sentimentality because it’s usually very logical, and not too gushy (eg. He buys me shark teeth, not stuffed animals that say dumb shit like “wuv yew” on them) – which makes it romantic times a bajillion for yours truly, because beer and shark teeth are AWESOME *sigh*

We were halfway through feasting before I thought to take a pic - so - sorry for the lack of presentation here.

Then he mentioned that he was crazy sleepy (and in all honesty I was too) and asked how I felt about maybe picking up our feast from Yummy’s then coming home to our little bungalow and curling up for Mediterranean madness and a movie. Why YES BENJAMIN!! ABSOLUTELY YES!! Because it just so happens I DVR’d E.T. over the weekend. And because he’s brilliant, and all mine, and the greatest guy on the planet, he totally thought that was the best idea ever. So we grabbed the noms, and came home and watched Formula 1 racing – because I wanted to show him that I really really truly love him more than anything in the world. Therefore, on our anniversary, cars trumps aliens. Love y’all? It’s amazeballs.

More nerd love. Rogue and Wolverine. Ben's Wolverine costume looks a lot like his daytime wear. I bought him plastic claws, but he wouldn't wear them. Psssh!! Like adamantium's so damn easy to come by at Party City.

About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Ben & Jamie Convos, Food is DELICIOUS, My Favorite Things and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Anniversary to Benjamin & Jamie =D

  1. moinla says:

    Happy Anniversary, sweet ones. This aunt loves you both very much.

  2. JamieRene says:

    We love you very much right back!! Did you know we might be headed in your general direction before the end of this very month?? State is finishing up tomorrow at Ben’s work!! It’s vacay time!!

  3. moinla says:

    Come on down!! We are in the process of remodeling our bathroom and will be finished by then…can’t imagine anything better than some time with you two.

    • JamieRene says:

      I heard your bathroom is finished!! Can’t wait to see it!! I think we’re looking at heading down on the 18th or 19th of this month…Benjamin’s got to work on his schedule though, so we’ll keep you posted!! XOXO

  4. manifestoshewrote says:

    Happy Anniversary! I love you guys so much, I’m so happy that I’ve been able to be a part of your life to see all of your happiness over the last three years, and I can’t wait to see you both this summer!!! Love Y’all!!!

  5. aaminaamjad says:

    Happy Belated Anniversary such a lovely post by a lovely couple ❤

Leave a Comment

