EEEE!! Books before movies!! Yes please <3

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

You may have recently seen a preview for an upcoming movie with Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock and a young man who plays their son??? Well!! There was a book first!! Which is quite possibly my favorite sequence of events EVER. I LOVE READING THE BOOK BEFORE THE MOVIE – or making the executive decision to read the book after so the movie seems better (because the book is nearly always better). And last night I goooootttt….

Say hi to Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. Now Mr. Foer has also written another book you may have heard of, or read, or seen the movie for. It is entitled Everything is Illuminated. I picked this book up after seeing the preview for the movie as well, and let me tell you what I’ve learned about Mr. Foer. He is unbelievably talented. He has a knack for seeing the absurd in everyday life, and meshing it with a sense of human vulnerability and hilarity that I’ve never found in any other writer. You will laugh until your stomach hurts. He is as gifted in the use of dialects as the late Mark Twain. He will wrench your heart out of your chest at the most unexpected moment, and leave you crying so hard you have to put the book down. Then he’ll turn right around and remind you that life isn’t always easy, and sometimes the horror and pain can’t be avoided, but that there’s good buried underneath everything. Love is there. Always. And that we must survive together. I have never read a writer like this, and I am totally elated that there’s another book for me to dive into headfirst, and come out changed on the other side. He’s on my list of people to invite to dinner, and evidently on the list of other, way more important people as well, because this is the second motion picture adaptation of his work. Hold onto your socks ladies and gents, because I simply cannot say enough about his awesomeness.

About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Book Love, Stuff I do...Or like...Or think about and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EEEE!! Books before movies!! Yes please <3

  1. lgalaviz says:

    I just got samples of all his books on Kindle, just in case. I am like a virtual book hoarder. I am now reading Eating Animals. Even thought it wasn’t even one of the ones you recommended. I’m such a rebel. You can’t stop me!

    • JamieRene says:

      HOLY.CRAPS. I hadn’t even heard about Eating Animals!!!! Please dish your rebel knowledge, I MUST KNOW!! So super stoked you’re reading him, we can compare notes =D
      Also, I understand virtual hoarding. I do this with online shopping baskets. I am Banana Republic’s best non-paying customer, for reals. At least you actually buy your virtual objects, instead of visiting them every month or so until they’re out of stock =P

Leave a Comment

