Just when you think things are going to hell in a handbasket…

…some happies start nipping at your ankles.

I have had the WORST PMS ever this week. And I am not a PMS person. I get it maybe every 6-8 months, and only for a few hours, or at most – a day. The last time I had PMS was about a year ago, and Benjamin had to stop me from mowing down an inconsiderate, self-loathing, obnoxious herd of tweeny emo-kids at Walmart. I think the warning sign was when I bared my teeth, and started accelerating our grocery cart on two wheels at their unshowered and slouchy forms, with obvious intent to rip the knees out of the back of their pleather bondage pants. THERE IS LIFE BEYOND MUSE AND HALF-CAFF CARAMEL MACCHIATO FRAPS YOU UNDERSTIMULATED FACEBOOKING TWERPS!!

Benjamin has provided a scientific description of my melt-downs that I will now share with you:

“Babe, you are the most patient, forgiving person I have ever met. Sometimes it’s almost to a fault. And you hardly ever get upset. But when you do it’s like f@$*%&ing Chernobyl and there’s no stopping it. And I try to prevent that from happening. EVER. It is my mission to monitor the water temperature around the reactor core. It’s important for humanity.”

And when PMS hits? Neither of us can stop it. The red lights are flashing in the dark, and we both know what coming, and there’s nothing we can do about it. I’VE BEEN LIKE THIS FOR A WEEK PEOPLE. AND THERE’S STILL 6 DAYS TO GO. I can’t stop crying, my pants don’t fit, I NEED TACO BUENO, chocolate only makes me nice for about 15 minutes, my boobs hurt, I eat 7 times a day, and I either have total insomnia or I’m in a coma. OH! And I have failed to get excited about power tools, interior decorating, and reading on three separate occasions. If I turn down a cupcake – start preparing for the zombie apocolypse.

I need sleep. I need to de-bloat. I need a pedicure and a glass of wine. And a hot bath. I need to stop scaring Benjamin  (I haven’t yelled at him yet though, and that prevents me from feeling like a complete failure).

So – I was a little on edge when I walked out the door this morning to head for work (my inner bitch on low-growl because my fat-day jeans were digging into my hip bone and already threatening to show butt-crack) And it was in this moment, that the universe decided to start feeding me sunshine in easily digestible tidbits of joy…

  1. My NY BFF J.H. text me that the benefit shows for my cousin’s friend Esme have reached all the way to Brooklyn, NY
  2. It turned out I DID NOT miss trash day when I forgot it was Thursday because of the New Year Holiday. Trash pick up got bumped to today. HOLLA!! What up!?!
  3. Personal Jesus by Depeche Mode came on the radio. Nuff said.
  4. I was reminded that fabulousness still exists in solid form even when you feel sucky – for example, the band named

    Me and N.G. - He and his wifey are two of the most amazingly wonderful people OF ALL TIME.

    Orchestral Maneuvers In The Dark“. Being awesome since the 80’s y’all.

  5. I heard Matt Lauer gave Ricky Gervais kind of a tuff time on the Today show this morning in an interview about his approach to comedy. So I tweeted him to tell him not to change a damn thing and that he is HILARIOUS. I seriously never thought I’d live to see the day when I could send warm-fuzzies to my fave famous people – from my phone.
  6. One of my favorite people, and the husband of the lady I describe on my About Me page, came to visit me and Dad at the shop!! And I got, like, 9 hugs!!
  7. My fence permit came through, which gave me a legit reason to coerce the cousins into coming to play work at my house for a week. WHICH IS FUN TIME CENTRAL -NO JOKE. You’re gonna have the sads that you missed it. But I will share pics. Hearts and promises.
  8. Finally – I have come to terms with the fact that Party Rock Anthem makes me shake my ass, and there is nothing I can do about it. Don’t tell anyone.

Here’s to the little things my friends. Sometimes we’ve just got to get through the day one ray of sunshine at a time. XOXO

About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Behavior, We're All Guilty of It, Food is DELICIOUS, My Favorite Things, Stuff I do...Or like...Or think about, Who? Me? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just when you think things are going to hell in a handbasket…

  1. Sheena says:

    Oh the hipster kids, I feel the same way.

    • JamieRene says:

      Ugh. I am so glad to have an ally. Independently there is nothing wrong with Muse, or Frapps, or Facebook. Or even bondage pants on the right occassion. But damn…don’t make depression and self-involvement a fashion statement. Depression hurts, and takes away people we love. It should not be placed in the same category as Jimmy Choo or Vera Wang. I understand that at the tender age of 15, human brains are not fully developed – so I try to keep my grown-up “the world does not revolve around you” viewpoint to myself, but when the estrogen spikes I feel life lessons need to be learned. Also, DON’T STAND IN THE MIDDLE OF THE AISLE OF THE GROCERY STORE TEXTING EACH OTHER INSTEAD OF TALKING. PEOPLE ARE TRYING TO ACTUALLY ACCOMPLISH A TASK HERE. Okay, I’m off my soap box now. Thanks for letting me rant. Again. =P

Leave a Comment

