UPDATED: New Year’s Spicy Black-Eyed Pea Soup = Lucky NOMS

The goods for the recipe as written. Except the ends of my celery look a little "zombie". I think I'll chop those off.

So, I threw some tidbits together a few weeks ago based on a very basic recipe for black-eyed pea soup that called for ham, carrots, and black-eyed peas (of course). I added a bit of flair and spice, and Ben and I gobbled it up, fo shizzle. I shared some with my mom and dad and got rave reviews. I also shared the recipe with my friend M.P. because her husband never eats his lucky peas at New Year’s. She was my independent reviewer, because she’s not my mom or dad, and therefore is not obligated to act like my complete failures are evidence of my clear and remarkable genius – she can, in fact, just say “Dude. Your soup sucks.” And I would be grateful for her saving me from future soup embarrassment. Because that’s what friends are for.

Well!! I just got her response y’all!! She’s officially a fan, and her husband ate his lucky black-eyed peas!! I therefore – officially –  feel confident enough to share, so Happy New Year you guys!!

Spices are the variety of life!! Wait...Is that right??

The prep time and getting it all into the pot takes roughly 10 minutes…

2 (14.5oz) Cans Broth of Your Choice (Chicken, Beef, Veg – I use my own homemade chicken stock because it’s CHEAP and freezable)

2 cups water 

12oz Dek Canned Ham, diced (or real ham, I used this originally because we had it and I wanted to see what would happen-I’m using real ham for our pot of stew this evening. I’m thinking it’s necessary to use salt sparingly until you figure out how much the meat salts the dish, then salt to flavor)

3 cans Trappey’s Black-Eyed Peas w/ Bacon (Rinse them VERY well, use a colander)

7oz can Chopped Green Chiles

14oz can Petite Diced Tomatos, drained but not rinsed

12(ish) Baby Carrots, slice ’em at about 1/4″ thick (use as many as you want, just be careful because they’ll make your soup sweet)

4 cloves garlic, crushed

1 tsp Onion powder (or 1/4-1/2 cup chopped real onions, if you eat them, which Ben won’t, so I use powder)

2 tbsp Parsley (dried)

1 tsp Ground Cumin

1/2 tsp Chile Powder (I use Chimayo chile, but whatevs, it’s all good)

1/2 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Thyme

1/4 tsp Crushed Rosemary

1/4 tsp Celery Seed

(Maybe: 3 cubes Beef Bullion)

****Note: the thyme, rosemary and celery seed were things I just happened to have on hand, but are open to interpretation to get

The new kids on the block!! I promise to shout out if it's delish!!

whatever flavor you want***

****Note Note: I’m gonna experiment with Rotel, onion juice, and some Jalapeños this round and see what happens, I’ll keep ya posted***

Get a big pot, like a stock pot or dutch oven . Drizzle some olive oil in the bottom, throw in the ham and garlic when the oil warms and coats the bottom of the pan easily (if you’re using real onions toss them in here as well), stir occasionally until it’s sizzled for 2-3 mins. Pour in your broth, then toss in the black eyed-peas, carrots, chile, tomato, and as much of the 2c water as you need to make it as brothy as you want. Add your seasonings. Bring to a boil for about 5 minutes, then set to low and barely simmer for 15-20 minutes. Check your broth about 10 mins before it’s done, and if you want a more savory flavor, throw in about 3 cubes of the beef bullion and let them simmer in, stirring well. I served this with warm flour tortillas with butter (If you’re going gluten free tell me what you served for dunking in the comments – I’m dying to know!!)

Ben and I ate 6 bowls between the two of us, and only demolished half of it, so it makes ALOT!! HUGS AND HERE’S TO A LITTLE BIT OF LUCK!!

Mmmm...steamy

Updated: Tue.January 3, 2012

Okay, so this time around I used:
  • 2 cups of my own homemade Chicken Stock
  • 1 can Rotel (original)
  • 1/8 cup Jalapeño Slices (La Costeña – the kind in the jar)
  • 1/4 cup Real Ham, cooked and chopped (I had this left over from a ham steak I had made) and
  • 1 Ham Bone (just the round bone from the center of the ham steak)
  • 3 tbsp Real Bacon Bits (don’t drop the dehydrator packet in the soup like I did)
  • I skipped the Rosemary + Canned Tomatoes + Diced Green Chile, and added the beef bullion cubes – and I used 1+1/2 cups of the additional water
This came out pretty spicy – so if you’re not a super duper heat person, I would maybe cut the chile powder and only put in 4-5 jalapeño slices for flavor as opposed to additional heat.
And you know what?? I didn’t add any salt. Between the ham, bacon and Rotel it’s got all the flavor you could ask for. SO DELICIOUS.
About TexasFenceSupply

Texas Fence Supply is a supplier located in North Dallas; contact us for information on our wood and chain link products, as well as our modular fence system.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Demanding Accuracy, Food is DELICIOUS, Learning stuff is muy bueno, My Favorite Things, Stuff I do...Or like...Or think about and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to UPDATED: New Year’s Spicy Black-Eyed Pea Soup = Lucky NOMS

  1. We ate black-eyed peas at the neighbors’ house. Did you know you’re also supposed to eat collard greens for money? I also ate those. I love people cooking for me (says the gal who rarely cooks). At least I appreciate it, right?

    • JamieRene says:

      Oooo!! I didn’t know about the collard greens – Ben and I went to the bookstore last night and I picked up this ama-za-zing cookbook entitled, well, The Texas Hill Country Cookbook. And OMG the dishes sound delish!! There’s a recipe for braised mustard greens with BACON that I’m dying to try. If it’s as outstanding as it sounds – BLAMMO – they’re going on next year’s New Year’s Day menu!! (Cuz who doesn’t need a little extra cash right??)

Leave a Comment

